Driving is the single most dangerous activity we do. From 2010 – 2016, there were 118,576 motor vehicle collisions in Sacramento County. In these crashes, 883 people were killed and another 72,282 suffered injuries. When you are injured in a car accident, often the insurance company may try to avoid paying you what you deserve. Doug has over 30 years of representing people injured in auto accidents and understands the laws that the insurance companies must abide by. He has been working as an Auto Accidents attorney in California for over 30 years. Doug will fight to get you the most money you deserve.
The California Vehicle Code section 20008 has made it mandatory for anyone involved in an auto accident to report the crash to the California Highway Patrol or to the local police department within 24 hours. This is especially important if the crash resulted in any injury or death of someone. In case the agency who received the report is not responsible for the investigation of the accident. it will have to forward the case to a proper investigating authority.
Sometimes, the scene of the accident is noticed by a law enforcement officer and a written report of the accident is prepared by him or her. In such a case, you are not required to make a separate report of your own. It is advised to discuss your case with an experienced California Auto Accidents attorney to get the compensation you deserve.
What Should I Do If I Am Injured In A Car Accident?
Being involved in a car accident can be a terrifying experience. If you need medical care, you should call 911. It’s important to seek immediate medical care if you suffered any injury, even if you think it was minor. This will serve to document that you did suffer some injury as well as ensuring you receive proper medical treatment for your injuries. Calling 911 will also alert law enforcement to send out an officer to make a police report, which further helps to document the accident. Next, you should try to obtain as much proof as possible by taking photos of the damage that was done to both cars. You should also try to get the name and phone number of any witnesses. Witnesses can be vital to establishing who exactly was at fault. Finally, avoid saying anything that would create the appearance that you were somehow at fault. Its best to let the facts and evidence show who was at fault. If you are not sure how to proceed after a car accident, call our office to talk to our Auto Accidents attorney in California.
How Much Money Can I Recover?
Under California law, if you can prove negligence, then you may be able to recover money for your medical bills, lost wages if you missed work, and general damages for pain and suffering. A major consideration is whether the person that hit you had insurance, and how much coverage they had. Another important consideration is whether your own insurance had underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, as you may also be able to recover from your own insurance. This can be a complicated task and you should contact an attorney who understands insurance law to ensure you get the most money you are entitled to. We would advise you to call our office to talk to our California Auto Accidents attorney.
Is California a Non-fault state?
With regard to auto accidents, California is considered a fault or tort state. In California, the responsibility of a person must be proved before their insurance is obliged to pay for the damages. The case is opposite in no-fault states like New Jersey and Florida. They do not need to prove responsibility and the injured person has to pay for medical costs and lost wages from his own insurance company. In no-fault states, the injured party is unable to sue the party at fault except under a few circumstances allowed by the state. If you underwent an accident in California, it is important that you consult an auto accident attorney in California to get a thorough understanding of the accident laws and your rights.
What is the deadline to file for an Auto Accident Case in California?
The deadline varies from case to case. If someone is injured in a crash, it is important that the lawsuit is filed within a period of two years after the accident. However, in case of a death where the family of the deceased wants to file a wrongful death case against the at-fault party, the clock starts running on the date of the death which can be different from the date of the accident.
If the lawsuit is filed over the damage of the vehicle only, duration of three years is given to the plaintiff party to file against the at-fault party.
No Upfront Attorneys Fees
Being injured in a car accident can be a very stressful event. If you are unable to work due to your injury, then you may have lost wages and no money to pay upfront attorneys fees. Doug Jaffe represents people on a contingency fee basis, meaning if he believes your case has merit, then he will accept the case with no upfront attorneys fees charges. Doug will only get paid a percentage of the settlement if he is successful in winning you the money you deserve. Call Doug today to schedule a free consultation. Our Auto Accidents attorney in California will be happy to assist.
Call For A Free Consultation